

Leagues of Women Voters of Coos County, Umpqua Valley, Rogue Valley, and Klamath County

February 19, 2020

Governor Kate Brown Office of the Governor 900 Court Street NE, Suite 254 Salem, OR 97301

Attorney General Ellen Rosenblum 1162 Court St NE Salem, OR 97301

Dear Governor Brown and Ms. Rosenblum:

We, the four undersigned local Leagues of Women Voters (LWV), are celebrating yet another regulatory decision in favor of Oregon against threats to our state posed by the proposed Jordan Cove Energy Project (JCEP). The Secretary of Commerce has upheld the state's objection to Coastal Zone Management Act certification. We write today to once again express our thanks, as well as congratulations, to you and the talented and committed staff within key Oregon agencies and the Department of Justice for their excellent work to defend the state and the four areas of southern Oregon our memberships represent against short and long-term harm the project would bring. The fact that much of the more recent work was accomplished in the midst of a pandemic warrants additional kudos.

We have been in contact with you over the years during our opposition to this project on the basis of League positions on protecting natural resources, public health and safety, and mitigating climate change. Most recently, in July 2020 we sent our thanks, including for consistently supporting your agencies in their rigorous evaluation of various state and federal permitting processes. At that time, the State's Request for Rehearing and subsequent appeal to the DC Circuit Court of Appeals of the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission's Orders authorizing the project, the Brief to the Secretary of Commerce in response to JCEP's petition to override Oregon's CZMA Consistency Certification objection, and the Department of Environmental Quality's Protest and Answer to JCEP's Declaratory Order claiming waiver of 401 Clean Water Act certification authority had all been submitted. Several of the affected Tribes, non-governmental organizations, and landowners had submitted their information in appropriate efforts, as well.

Now, although JCEP's owner Pembina is still hoping for an outcome in their favor from the DC Circuit and have not otherwise withdrawn, their efforts to enlist federal help against Oregon's decisions have failed. We see reason for optimism that, with the State's denial of the Section 401 Water Quality and Coastal Zone Management Act certifications intact and a federal Administration that understands the critical struggle before us all to protect our natural resources and environment from continued fossil fuel development and dependency, we have a chance to fight the current climate emergency. And just yesterday, Governor, you asked FERC Chairman Glick to extend to Tribes the right to being signatories of the Section 106 Programmatic Agreement, not just concurring parties. We applaud your commitment to environmental justice and to giving all due respect to solemn government-to-government relationships that have been so inappropriately overlooked in this process so far.

Again, please accept our thanks to both of you for your commitment to protect Oregon and its environment and resources, Tribal rights, and communities threatened with environmental injustice and congratulations to the many state employees for their great work.

Sincerely,

Alice a Cordson

Alice Carson, Co-President, League of Women Voters of Coos County PO Box 1571, Coos Bay OR 97420

Frances Smith

Frances H. Smith, Co-President, League of Women Voters of Coos County PO Box 1571, Coos Bay OR 97420

Jenny Carloni

Jenny Carloni, President, League of Women Voters of Umpqua Valley PO Box 2434, Roseburg, OR 97470

Margu

Margie Peterson, President, League of Women Voters of Rogue Valley PO Box 8555, Medford OR 97501

Emily Atrauss (by Atr)

Emily Strauss, Co-President, League of Women Voters of Klamath County 1145 Tamera Drive, Klamath Falls OR 97603

Wine Eastman Shockey

Diane Eastman, Co-President, League of Women Voters of Klamath County 6464 Osprey Lane, Klamath Falls OR 97601

Cc: Secretary of State Shemia Fagen **Treasurer Tobias Read** Senator Ron Wyden Senator Jeff Merkley Congressman Cliff Bentz Congressman Peter DeFazio **Oregon Senator Dallas Heard** Oregon Senator Dennis Linthicum Oregon Senator Floyd Prozanski **Oregon Senator Jeff Golden Oregon Senator Dick Anderson Oregon Representative Kim Wallen** Oregon Representative Cedric Hayden **Oregon Representative Gary Leif** Oregon Representative Vikki Breese-Iverson Oregon Representative E. Werner Reschke Oregon Representative David Brock Smith **Oregon Representative Boomer Wright Oregon Representative Pam Marsh** Jason Miner, Governor's Natural Resources Policy Advisor Kristen Sheeran, Governor's Climate Policy Director Janine Benner, Director, Oregon Department of Energy Richard Whitman, Director, Oregon Department of Environmental Quality Jim Rue, Director, Department of Land Conservation and Development Vicki Walker, Director, Department of State Lands Curt Melcher, Director, Oregon Department of Fish and Wildlife Brad Avy, State Geologist, Oregon Department of Geology and Mining Industries Tom Byler, Director, Oregon Water Resources Department Lisa Sumption, Director, Oregon Parks and Recreation Peter Daugherty, State Forester, Oregon Department of Forestry Paul Mather, Interim Director, Oregon Department of Transportation Deborah Turner, President, LWVUS Rebecca Gladstone, President, LWVOR